Does the All Star game matter to me as fan? My answer: HELL NO!


When I think about the All Star game I am a bottle of mixed emotions. I think of what it use to be which was the gathering of the most deserving a reward for those players to be recognized for there great achievements in the first half of the season. It was a chance for us fans to see are dream come true of these super teams and witness pitching and hitting matchups (especially back before interleague play) to see who was truly better. These days however it’s a media driven popularity contest. There is no reward for being the best but rather being the best well known player. Those cities with the biggest markets that have more fans that can vote their team’s player in the game which in turn generates the greater ratings. If you asked me today does the All Star game matter to me as fan? My answer: HELL NO. In fact I would say I am more interested in the home run derby. So they play for home field advantage in the World Series… big damn deal. That only matters for teams that are in the race (which I happy to say the Reds are but even still). I have better things to do with my life than watch a bunch of what are so called the best players. The All Star game is a poster child for the MLB as a whole, BIG money, BIG contracts and BIG Markets. Oh and FYI to ESPN I am tried of watching the Yankees and the Red Sox every Sunday Night!!! Even though My REDS have 3 (should be 4 with Votto!) in the All Star game I will not be tuning in. MLB needs to better define there selection rules and bring some authenticity back to the game but as long as SELLOUT SELIG is in power that will never happen. Here is a great quote from the field of dreams that I think is fitting to the All Star game today:

The one constant through all the years, Ray, has been baseball. America has rolled by like an army of steamrollers. It’s been erased like a blackboard, rebuilt, and erased again. But baseball has marked the time. This field, this game, is part of our past, Ray. It reminds us of all that once was good, and that could be again.

Mr. Commissioner please restore The All Star game because if you do…..

Oh, people will come, Ray. People will most definitely come

This entry was posted in Allstar, MLB, REDS and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

